Easy Way to Create Colorful Bash Prompt

The Problem

I often want to fiddle with the bash prompt, but don’t want to deal with bash prompt escape sequences. I wish for a utility which simplify setting a bash prompt. I finally wrote that utility myself: mkprompt

Install

Copy mkprompt to a directory in the path.

Using mkprompt

The best way to show mkprompt usage is via a couple of examples.

PS1=$(mkprompt "red workdir" space dollar)  
PS1=$(mkprompt "cyan Workdir" space "green dollar")  
mkprompt # display help

For more information, see my shell_tools page.

What’s Next?

The following are improvements which I plan for mkprompt, depends on my free time:

  • Implement the rest of the prompt escape sequences
  • Improve the help output
  • Implement installation script

The Script

I current host my script as part of my shell_tools collection on GitHub.

One thought on “Easy Way to Create Colorful Bash Prompt

  1. Roseann

    It was difficult to find your blog in google. You should create some high PR contextual backlinks in order to
    rank your blog. I know – writing articles is very time consuming, but contextual backlinks are the best type of backlinks.
    I know one cool tool that will help you to create unique, readable articles in minute,
    just type in google – rewriter creates an unique article in a minute

Leave a Reply

