Personal Backup X4’s Synchronization Features Disappointed

I have wrote about this software in my previous post and did not like the experience. Now, as I drill deeper into one specific area: file and folder synchronization; I was disappointed one more time. The synchronization process lacks intelligence and does not automatically synchronize files based on the time stamp.

Background:

I have a USB key, which I partitioned into two separate drives: USB1 and USB2. I would like to synchronize the contents of these two drives with my two local folders Local1 and Local2, respectively.

The Process:

Since Personal Backup X4 (PBX4) can handle folder synchronization, I fired up the software and created a script with the following parameters:

  • Source: Local1
  • Destination: USB1
  • Automatically execute when the USB key is inserted
  • Quit PBX4 upon finish

Before I can trust this script with my real data, I carried out the following test. I loaded USB1 and Local1 with some text files as follow:

Local1: file1, file2, file3, file4
USB1: file1, file2, file3, file5

Bold filenames signify newer file based on the time stamp. After the synchronization, I expect both locations to carry the newer files, plus any newly created ones (file4 and file5). Therefore, I expect the following outcome:

Local1: file1, file2, file3, file4, file5
USB1: file1, file2, file3, file4, file5

However, after running the script, my outcome is:

Local1: file1, file2, file3, file4, file5
USB1: file1, file2, file3, file4, fle5

That means PBX4 did not synchronize changed files. How useful! Still, I did not give up and modified the script to synchronize manually with user intervention this time. Once started, PBX4 displayed each changed files and asked me which version to keep. All seems fine, except for the fact that PBX4 only displays the files’ dates, but not times. That means if the two files have identical dates, but different times, the user cannot tell which one to keep. In addition, manually selecting which files to keep can be tedious and error-prone if the user have more than a handful of files to compare. Do you want to sit down and do that for hundreds, if not thousands of files?

If you are looking for a utility to synchronize your files, look elsewhere. I am still searching for a good one myself. If you have any suggestion, please post your comment here. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

