Neat Desktop: Hidding the Dock

Of my “Neat Desktop” series, this trick does not require any additional software. By pressing Cmd+Option+D, I hide the dock from view. Pressing the same key combination will bring it back. However, I prefer to move the mouse cursor to where the dock used to be and the dock will appear until I move the mouse cursor away.

So far, I have used this trick and three applications (Spirited Away, Desktopple, and MenuShade) to accomplish a very neat desktop. I wish there is away to integrate all of these feature into one comprehensive setting so that I can turn everything on or off, or somewhere in between. Maybe Apple should add this feature in its next OS.

Here are the screenshots of what my desktop looks like before and after applying the four tricks:

Before:

After:

Leave a Reply

